Before I leave for my trip I wanted to post a rudimentary gear list. As an ultralight hiker, I have put great amounts of thought into my packing list…

WP_20131211_005

There are still a few things I would like to work out when I can afford it. I would not generally carry this much water, but within the first couple days the opportunities to refill water may be few and far between. Along the way I will either replace my bottles or just start filling them up half way. Also, I am trying out the GG Gorilla for the first time and I am interested in playing around with its weight carrying capacity.

There is a lot of new gear for me on this trip and I will be posting my experiences with each piece at the end of my trip. Such gear includes:

  • GG Gorilla (moving up in weight from my old G4)
  • HG Burrow 20 F (this is my first trip using a down quilt)
  • Borah Gear Borahgami
  • GG 1/8 pad (I could not afford to get another sleeping pad, so I added this over my Prolite 3).

I am also bring two stoves to compare side by side when used in same conditions: Esbit 3-wing solid fuel stove and Fancy Feast Cat Can alcohol stove. I have used both on separate occasions.

If there is any gear that you specifically want to know about  and if there is anything you think I am missing, just post a comment below; I am always up for new ideas and combinations of gear.

Base Pack Weight: 10.98 lbs

Fuel: .19

Food: 3 lbs

Water: 6.6 lbs

Entire Pack Weight: 20 lbs 12 oz

Packing & Shelter: 84.23 oz

  • Gossamer Gear (GG) Gorilla
  • Borah Gear Borahgami
  • GG Polycryo
  • GG Stakes
  • Guyline
  • DIY Pillow
  • HG Burrow 20 F
  • Therm-a-Rest Prolite 3
  • GG 1/8
  • Pack Liner

Clothing Packed: 45.79 oz

  • Frogg Togg UL Rain Suit
  • Marmot Reactor 1/4 zip Fleece
  • Extra Socks
  • Rocky Bottoms Thermal Base (will eventually replace with down pants)
  • Baffin Slippers (will eventually replace with down socks)
  • Gloves
  • Stuff Sack
  • Extra Fleece (I didn’t get my down vest in time)

First Aid & Survival: 13.58 oz

  • First Aid Pack, Bandana, Compass, Lighter, Lint, Matches, Rubber band, pills, ziploc (x3), head lamp, map, tooth brush

Cooking & Drinking: 10.19 oz

  • Stuff sack, towel, Fork
  • Water Treatment
  • Walmart Cookpot
  • Esbit 3-winged stove
  • Aluminum wind screen
  • Water Bottles

Luxury: 21.94 oz

  • Bible
  • Phone (and charger)
  • Camera (and charger)
  • Headphones
  • Stuff Sack

Thanks for reading! I will try to upload pictures/updates along the way.

2 thoughts on “Final Pack Weight

Leave a Reply

